Skip to content

October 23, 2018

How to delete a Netflix profile from your account

by John_A

Netflix added the Profiles feature in 2013, allowing users to set up five different sub-accounts — thus preventing automatic suggestions to impact listings for different viewers. So, maybe you’ve got separate profiles for your kids, your significant other — or even a separate profile for any guests that come over. Sometimes, though, for whatever reason, you just need to get rid of a profile for good. But how? Fortunately, it’s an easy process, no matter which device you might be using to do it.

Note: If you’re just trying to delete some unwanted viewing history so you don’t get weird or inaccurate suggestions from Netflix, you don’t need to delete the whole profile. Just go to your computer and head to the viewing activity page (located under account management) to manually delete anything you didn’t watch (or don’t want others to know you did). 

Deleting from PC

First, you’ll need to sign in to your Netflix account. If you’re using a mobile phone, you’ll want to use the Netflix app for iOS or Android rather than a browser. If you’re on a computer, you’re probably already logged in, but if not, just head to Netflix and hit Sign In, located in the upper-right corner.

Once you’re in (it might prompt you to select a profile; just select whichever profile you use personally), click the icon in the upper-right corner to open a drop-down menu, then select Manage Profiles.

Next, find the profile you wish to delete and click the pencil icon in the center. You’ll then see a menu that looks something like this:

Click Delete Profile, then on the next screen, click Delete Profile again. Poof! That profile and its viewing history are now, well, history. You’ll automatically return to the Manage Profiles screen; click Done to return to the Profile Selection screen.

Deleting from a smartphone or tablet

You can also bounce profiles from the Netflix mobile app. Open it, and select Sign In, located in the upper-right corner. Once you enter your information, you’ll proceed to the Profile Selection screen. Again, you’ll head to the upper-right corner, where it says Edit.

Tap that, and little pencil icons will appear on each profile. Tap the profile you want to delete, then tap Delete (you’ll see a little trash can icon there). It’ll give you one of those “are you sure?” screens, so confirm your decision and, voilà! No more profile. You’re now free to watch the finest shows and most magnificent movies the streaming service has on tap.

Deleting from a streaming device or smart TV

The process for deleting a profile from a streaming device (such as a Roku Premiere or an Amazon Fire TV Cube) or a smart TV differs depending on what operating system is running on your device of choice. Typically, though, it’s pretty easy to figure out.

Open your Netflix app, and the Profile Selection screen will usually offer a method for deletion (for example, the Roku Netflix app has little pencil icons you can navigate to that are located below the profile icons). If not, try looking for a Settings screen and exploring. If that doesn’t work, you might need to use a computer or mobile device.

Editors’ Recommendations

  • How to password protect a PDF
  • How to change your Gmail password
  • Cord-cutting 101: How to quit cable for online streaming video
  • How to record the screen on your iPhone
  • Windows update not working? Here’s how to fix it



Advertisements
Read more from News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

%d bloggers like this: